Monday, 26 May 2014

Stardust - Neil Gaiman

Stardust
By Neil Gaiman
Reviewed by Jamie
Published:January 1st 1998
Publisher: Headline Review
Pages: 194
ISBN: 0755322827


Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love. (Goodreads)
This book... is very hard to explain/review! It was enjoyable for sure, but it was also all over the place! 

The setting and the world and the story itself was so magical that you couldn't help but read on. At the same time it was confusing and very very strange. Which is kind of Neil Gaiman's thing. I don't even feel like I can give this book a proper review! I enjoyed it, but it just wasn't my favourite. There was some surprising adult content in this book, I thought for some reason it was YA, but there is sex and unicorn deaths thrown in there! I have yet to see the movie, but I feel like this story would translate really well to film, I'm looking forward to watching it.

This is a very whimsical story and if you are in the mood for a fairytale type book then this may be a good one to pick up.

This was me during this whole book
3/5 Albi Cats

No comments:

Post a Comment