Tuesday, 6 January 2015

The Book of Ivy - Amy Engel

The Book of Ivy (#1)
By: Amy Engel
Reviewed by Jamie
Published: November 11th 2014
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Pages: 304
ISBN: 1622664655
Format: Paperback

After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual. 

This year, it is my turn. 

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power. 

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him… (Goodreads)
 THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!!!!

You guys, you NEED to read this! I couldn't put it down! I read it in 2 sittings which never happens! I loved everything about this book, the pacing was perfect, the characters were amazing, the love story was one of the best I've seen, not rushed at all, it was just perfect! Bishop is now one of my new book boyfriends for sure!


This is a dystopian novel set after the world has been destroyed by nuclear war it follows a town of survivors a few generations after the war has ended. Things seem like they have gone back to the olden days and women's rights are not what they are now, arranged marriages are set at the age of 16, which is crazy. Our main character Ivy is a real spark plug! She is outspoken and real, she acts like a 16 year old but one with a really good head on her shoulders, she makes some seriously difficult choices in this book and I think she is an outstanding lead role!

Its going to be a struggle waiting for the next book! I NEED to know what happens with Ivy!!!!!!

This book was sent to me for review by Entangled Teen for an honest review. I am SO happy they sent this to me!!!
 

5/5 Albi Cats

World War Z - Max Brooks

World War Z
By: Max Brooks
Reviewed by Jamie
Published: September 12th 2006
Publisher: Crown
Pages: 342
ISBN: 0307346609
Format: Paperback

The Zombie War came unthinkably close to eradicating humanity. Max Brooks, driven by the urgency of preserving the acid-etched first-hand experiences of the survivors from those apocalyptic years, traveled across the United States of America and throughout the world, from decimated cities that once teemed with upwards of thirty million souls to the most remote and inhospitable areas of the planet. He recorded the testimony of men, women, and sometimes children who came face-to-face with the living, or at least the undead, hell of that dreadful time. "World War Z" is the result. Never before have we had access to a document that so powerfully conveys the depth of fear and horror, and also the ineradicable spirit of resistance, that gripped human society through the plague years. 

Ranging from the now infamous village of New Dachang in the United Federation of China, where the epidemiological trail began with the twelve-year-old Patient Zero, to the unnamed northern forests where untold numbers sought a terrible and temporary refuge in the cold, to the United States of Southern Africa, where the Redeker Plan provided hope for humanity at an unspeakable price, to the west-of-the-Rockies redoubt where the North American tide finally started to turn, this invaluable chronicle reflects the full scope and duration of the Zombie War. 

Most of all, the book captures with haunting immediacy the human dimension of this epochal event. Facing the often raw and vivid nature of these personal accounts requires a degree of courage on the part of the reader, but the effort is invaluable because, as Mr. Brooks says in his introduction, "By excluding the human factor, aren't we risking the kind of personal detachment from history that may, heaven forbid, lead us one day to repeat it? And in the end, isn't the human factor the only true difference between us and the enemy we now refer to as 'the living dead'?" (Goodreads)
 hmmmm...

I can see why a lot of people really like this book, but its just not my cup of tea! The story was cool but I found it to be kind of boring and impersonal and too much military talk. Not my favourite zombie book.


This is a super short review but there really isn't much else to say! If you enjoy the books that Jeff likes OR if you liked Robopocalypse than you will really enjoy this book!

every time there was military mumbo jumbo
2/5 Albi Cats

Thursday, 1 January 2015

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer - Michelle Hodkin

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (#1)
By: Michelle Hodkin
Reviewed by Jamie
Published: September 27th 2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Pages: 452
ISBN: 1442421762
Format: Audiobook

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong. (Goodreads)
 I really enjoyed this book! 

It wasn't at all what I expected but it didn't disappoint. Mara is such an interesting character, I loved the fact that she was an unreliable narrator, I found that I was discovering plot twists with her and I felt like I was in her head. I'm not sure how I feel about Noah, I think I like him but I don't love him. I'm really interested to see where this story is going to go!

I'd recommend this book if you're looking for something a little different, something that will keep you on your toes and really make you think!
 

4/5 Albi Cats

Fire with Fire - Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

Fire with Fire (Burn for Burn #2)
By: Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
Reviewed by Jamie
Published: August 13th 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 517
ISBN: 1442440783
Format: Hardcover


When sweet revenge turns sour… Book two of a trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian.

Lillia, Kat, and Mary had the perfect plan. Work together in secret to take down the people who wronged them. But things didn’t exactly go the way they’d hoped at the Homecoming Dance.

Not even close.

For now, it looks like they got away with it. All they have to do is move on and pick up the pieces, forget there ever was a pact. But it’s not easy, not when Reeve is still a total jerk and Rennie’s meaner than she ever was before.

And then there’s sweet little Mary…she knows there’s something seriously wrong with her. If she can’t control her anger, she’s sure that someone will get hurt even worse than Reeve was. Mary understands now that it’s not just that Reeve bullied her—it’s that he made her love him.

Eye for an eye, tooth for a tooth, burn for a burn. A broken heart for a broken heart. The girls are up to the task. They’ll make Reeve fall in love with Lillia and then they will crush him. It’s the only way he’ll learn.

It seems once a fire is lit, the only thing you can do is let it burn... 
She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong. (Goodreads)
 OH. EM. GEE.

Honestly I loved the first book in this series but I wasn't sure where the story was gong to go from there and I wasn't expecting this AT ALL! The twist at the end was so unbelievably unexpected to me, my jaw hit the floor! I LOVE this story and I need the next book! Im sp back and forth on all of these characters, I have love hate relationships with almost all of them because they all seem to do messed up stuff but they also all have redeeming qualities. The only character I love always Is Alex, he is the best! Its just such a crazy bond between our three main characters and I love that, I also love how these books show three different perspectives, its great!

If you haven't started this story yet, you should!! SO GOOD!!

Literally me at the end of the book

and this will be me when starting the next book!
5/5 Albi Cats

Chocolate Wishes - Trisha Ashley

Chocolate Wishes
By: Trisha Ashley
Reviewed by Jamie
Published: February 1st 2010
Publisher: Avon Books
Pages: 376
ISBN: 1847561144
Format: Paperback

Life is sweet for chocolate maker Chloe Lyon! In the picture-perfect Lancashire village of Sticklepond, Confectioner Chloe dispenses inspirational sweet treats containing a prediction for each customer. If only her own life was as easy to forecast - perhaps Chloe could have foreseen being jilted at the altar! But when a new Vicar arrives in the village, the rumour mill goes into overdrive. Not only is Raffy Sinclair the charismatic ex-front man of rock band 'Mortal Ruin', he's also the Chloe's first love and the man who broke her heart. Try as she might, Chloe can't ignore this blast from her past. Could now be the time for her to make a wish - and dare to believe it can come true? A charming novel for chocoholics everywhere, perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews. (Goodreads)
 Overall this was just an okay read for me, very predictable and very underwhelming. I usually really love sweet light romances, however I found this story to be lacking a bit of personality. Don't get me wrong, this is a cute book, but it was just okay.

The characters and the story line were a little dry, but the romance was sweet. I wouldn't completely shy away from this book, you may find it to be enjoyable! Just not for me.

Pretty much how I felt
2.5/5 Albi Cats


Yes Please - Amy Poehler

Yes Please
By: Amy Poehler
Reviewed by Jamie
Published: October 28th 2014 
Publisher: It Books
Pages: 329
ISBN: 0062268341
Format: Audiobook

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book is full of words to live by. (Goodreads)
 And here I thought I couldn't love Amy Poehler any more! 

This was a fantastic book by a fantastic woman. I decided to listen to this book on audiobook because I really feel with these types of books, its necessary, to get a full experience. It was so very interesting hearing Amy's life stories and you really get to know the real Amy so much better. She is a hilarious, strong, loving and independent woman and such an incredible role model for all women. I really enjoyed how she invited others to speak during the audiobook, it kept things very interesting and I couldn't get enough! I especially loved the references to Parks and Recreation and the section with Seth Meyers.

I highly recommend this book and if you can listen to it, please do so!!


5/5 Albi Cats